Welcome 2022 California Sea Grant State Fellows

Nick Sadrpour

California Sea Grant is excited to welcome 25 recipients into the prestigious 2022 State Fellowship. This opportunity provides fellows with unparalleled and hands-on training at the interface of science, communication, policy, and management at either a municipal, state, or federal host agency in California for one year.

The California Sea Grant State Fellowship is a 12-month paid educational fellowship for graduate students who are interested in marine, coastal, and/or watershed resources and in the decisions affecting those resources in California. Modeled after the highly successful Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship Program, the State Fellows Program provides an opportunity to acquire experience in the planning, implementation, and management of marine, coastal, and/or watershed resource policies and programs in the state of California.

“It is always very encouraging to welcome a new cohort of fellows to our State Fellowship Program” says California Sea Grant Director Shauna Oh. “This year’s  outstanding cohort of 25 fellows will have access to a wide network of programs and agencies, enabling relationship-building, collaboration and the ability to gain indispensable experience in their area of interest. Ensuring that we continue providing this training opportunity for the next generation of marine and coastal professionals  that advances the work of our partners in coastal and marine resource management, remains a priority to us.”

The 2022 State Fellows, hosted by 14 agencies and organizations throughout California, bring diverse experience in the realms of marine biodiversity and conservation, climate change adaptation, resource management, community outreach and education, molecular and biochemical research, environmental policy, toxicology, and sea-level rise adaptation, and more

2022 State Fellows and Hosts

Mariela Rios Alcubilla - Port of San Diego: Planning, Environment, and Government Relations Division

Aaron Angel - Delta Stewardship Council- Planning and Performance Division

Alexandria Bevan - California Department of Transportation- District 4 - Environmental Stormwater

Tabitha Birdwell - Delta Science Program- Collaborative Science and Peer Review Unit

Ellie Brauer - California Department of Transportation- District 1 - Environmental Engineering, Water Quality and Special Projects

Amanda Chiachi - California Department of Transportation- District 1 - Environmental Engineering, Water Quality and Special Projects

James Chhor - State Water Resources Control Board- Division of Water Quality, Sustainable Water Plans and Policies

Samantha Cook - NOAA Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary

Korrin Davis - California Coastal Commission - Climate Change

Gene DePuy - Monterey Bay Aquarium: Conservation and Science Division

Catie Thow de Garcia - State Coastal Conservancy- Bay Restoration

Elyse Goin - Ocean Protection Council- Marine Biodiversity 

Olivia Johnson - California Department of Parks and Recreation - Natural Resources Division, Coastal Programs Unit

Allegra La Ferr - Delta Science Program - Science-Based Adaptive Management Unit

Max Liebergesell - California State Lands Commission: Special Projects/Coastal Resilience/Science Team

Jaime Lopez - San Francisco BCDC: Sediment Management

Lindsey Metz - State Water Resources Control Board- Office of Information Management and Analysis

Sami Michishita - State Water Resources Control Board- Division of Water Quality: Ocean Standards Unit

Anna Rasmussen - San Francisco BCDC: Regional Sea Level Rise Adaptation

Kimberly Rogers - California Fish and Game Commission

Elishebah Tate-Pulliam - Delta Science Program- Science Communication, Synthesis, and Decision Support Unit

Kellan Warner - State Coastal Conservancy- South Coast

Michael Wells - California State Lands Commission: Climate Change/Coastal Resilience /Sea Level Rise

Megan Williams - Ocean Protection Council- Climate Change Program

Carmen Zamora - San Francisco Estuary Partnership