Staff Directory

Extension Team
Name
Lupita Barajas
Research Assistant
gubarajas@ucsd.edu / (619) 723-1655
Andrew and his niece enjoying an Oakland A's game
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
abartshire@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0999
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
nhbauer@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0996
Will Boucher - Photo by Fred Greaves
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
wboucher@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0999
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
tmcameron@ucsd.edu / 707-687-0999
Crystal Chan
Extension Team Intern
ckc036@ucsd.edu / (626)378-2200
Mary Cozy
Extension Team Intern
Carrie Culver
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
cculver@ucsd.edu / (805) 893-4530
Laura Engeman
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
lengeman@ucsd.edu / (858) 246-2716
Luke Gardner - Photo by David Poller
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
lgardner@ucsd.edu / 831-771-4429
Jason Held - Photo by Fred Greaves
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
jheld@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0999
aaron howard
Program Manager // Lab Assistant
flo lavalle
California Sea Grant/SCCOOS Postdoctoral Fellow
brenna mahoney
Sentinel Site Cooperative Coordinator
b1mahoney@ucsd.edu / 617-851-9855
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
amcclary@ucsd.edu / 707-687-0999
Extension Team Intern
Sarah stocking coho salmon into a study reach of Porter Creek
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
snossamanpierce@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0995
Mariska Obedzinski - Photo by David Poller
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
mobedzinski@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0994
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
zsreinstein@ucsd.edu / (707) 687-0999
Elizabeth Ruiz- Photo by Fred Greaves
Russian River Salmon and Steelhead Monitoring Team
ear026@ucsd.edu / 707-687-0999
Theresa Talley - photo by Fred Greaves
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
tstalley@ucsd.edu / 858-534-4600
Max: Photo by Fred Greaves
California Sea Grant Canine Outreach Specialist
joe tyburczy
California Sea Grant Extension Specialist
jtyburczy@ucsd.edu / (707) 443-8369
Staff
Name
Proposal/Grants Analyst
cbsumber@ucsd.edu / (858) 534-7855
Catherine Courtier - Photo: David Poller
Research Coordinator
ccourtie@ucsd.edu / (858) 822-2167
Communications Director
kleitzell@ucsd.edu / (858) 246-1661
Rose Madson - Photo by Fred Greaves
Assistant Director
rmadson@ucsd.edu / (858) 534-4601
headshot erin malsbury
Science Communication Intern
emalsbur@ucsc.edu / (770) 375-5809
Shauna Oh
Director, California Sea Grant
shaunaoh@ucsd.edu / (858) 534-4440
Program Coordinator - Science Integration Team
Fund Manager
lsalas@ucsd.edu / (858) 534-0577
Herminia Villalpando - Photo by David Poller
Fund Manager
hvillalpando@ucsd.edu / (858) 534-4442
Larry Woolfolk II - Photo by David Poller
Assistant Fund Manager
lwoolfolkii@ucsd.edu / 858-246-5992
Extension Team, Fellow/Trainee
Name
California Department of Fish and Wildlife Statewide Kelp Management Fellow Gina Contolini
CDFW Statewide Kelp Management Extension Fellow
NOAA Marine Debris Program Extension Fellow, Tanya Torres
NOAA Marine Debris Program Extension Fellow
Staff, State Fellow
Name
Nicholas DeNezzo
Science Communication Fellow
ndenezzo@ucsd.edu / (858) 246-5872