California Sea Grant Advisors

Advisory Board

The California Sea Grant Advisory Board advises the California Sea Grant director and the UCSD Vice Chancellor for Marine Sciences (Scripps Institution of Oceanography director). The board plays an important role in guiding the California Sea Grant leadership team in program operation and direction. Board members bring broad expertise, experience, advice, and diverse perspectives to the program and include senior officials and leaders from business and industry, the state university system, and state government.

The current membership as of October 2020 is as follows:

  • Noelle Bowlin, CalCOFI Program Leader, NOAA Southwest Fisheries Science Center. La Jolla, CA
  • Mike Conroy, Executive Director, Pacific Coast Federation of Fishermen’s Association. San Francisco, CA
  • Jeff Gee, Professor of Geophysics at Scripps Institution of Oceanography at UC San Diego. La Jolla, CA
  • Mark Gold, Director, Deputy Secretary of Oceans & Coastal Policy, California Ocean Protection  Council. Sacramento, CA
  • Barbara Page, Co-Founder, VP of Operations, Anthropocene Institute. Menlo Park, CA
  • Nuin-Tara Key, Deputy Director of Climate Resilience, Governor’s Office of Planning and Research. Sacramento, CA
  • Amber Mace*, Executive Director, California Council on Science and Technology, Sacramento, CA
  • Terry Sawyer, Hog Island Oyster Company. Marshall, CA 
  • Becky Smyth, West Coast Director, Regional Division Chief, NOAA Office of Coastal Management. Oakland, CA
  • Valerie Termini,* Chief Deputy Director, California Department of Fish and Wildlife. Sacramento, CA 
  • Ron Tjeerdema, Professor of Environmental Toxicology & Associate Dean of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, UC Davis. Davis, CA
  • Steve Weisberg, Executive Director, Southern California Coastal Water Research Project (SCCWRP). Costa Mesa, CA 

* California Sea Grant State Fellow Alumni

Resources Agency Sea Grant Advisory Panel (RASGAP)

RASGAP conducts reviews of preliminary proposals, full proposals, and provides a resource protection-and-management-relevant view of proposal value. This panel is codified in California state law with the purpose of advising and assisting CASG (as well as the USC Sea Grant program). Input from RASGAP is directed toward identifying and meeting priorities for funding according to the needs identified by state resource protection and management agencies.

The panel is made up of the following seats:

• California State Senate
• California Department of Fish and Wildlife
• California State Assembly
• State Lands Commission
• California State University 
• University of California 
• California Department of Conservation
• California fish and seafood industries
• California Coastal Commission
• California Department of Parks & Recreation
• California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment
• State Water Resources Control Board
• Private Institution; University of Southern California - Department of Biological Sciences
• Marine engineering industry